AOH News

Irish American Heritage Month Events

Posted on

Irish American Heritage Month Events  Irish America and the 1916 Rising Saturday March 6, 2021 1PM EST, 12PM CST, 11AM MST, 10AM PST – 6PM Ireland Ruan O’Donnell, Head of the History Department at the University of Limerick Zoom Registration Link: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_peA-V_-qR1W04dfYYY4C9w YouTube Link: https://www.youtube.com/c/AncientOrderofHibernians ___________________________________________________________________ AOH National St. Patrick’s Day Mass Wednesday, March 17, 2021 […]

Irish History

Irish in America Census Facts

Posted on

Did You Know?  32 million or 9.9% The number and percentage of U.S. residents who claimed Irish ancestry in 2018. – 32 million Source: 2014-2018 American Community Survey 123,950 The number of foreign-born U.S. residents who reported Ireland as their birthplace in 2018. – 123,950 Source: 2014-2018 American Community Survey 470,277 The number of people living in […]

AOH News

Easter Rising April 11, 2020

Posted on

Easter Rising Commemoration April 11 Please be advised we have had to cancel this year’s AOH 1916 Easter Rising Commemoration in Anaheim due to health and safety concerns related to the coronavirus.   We ask that you share this information with the members of your respective divisions and anyone else you may have invited.  Additionally, we […]

Irish History

Irish in America

Posted on

The U.S. Congress proclaimed March as Irish-American Heritage Month in 1991, and the president issues a proclamation commemorating the occasion each year. Originally a religious holiday to honor St. Patrick, who introduced Christianity to Ireland in the fifth century, St. Patrick’s Day has evolved into a celebration of all things Irish. The world’s first St. […]

Irish History

Battle of Kinsale

Posted on

Christmas Eve 1601,The Battle Of Kinsale. The Irish Gaelic Chieftans Hugh O’Neill (Tír Eoghain) & Hugh Roe O’Donnell (Tír Chonaill) had been fighting the English since 1593 which became known as the nine years war. O’Neill had persuaded the Spanish King Phillip II and later King Phillip III to help the Irish cause, in June […]